Beethoven: Symphony no. 1 in C major, op. 21

Beethoven: Symphony no. 1 in C major, op. 21

  • Composed 1799-1800
  • Dedicated to Gottfried Baron van Swieten, who had been one of Mozart’s most important patrons in Vienna.
  • Four movements
  • Typical performance = 22 – 29 minutes.
  • Winds: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons
  • Brass: 2 horns, 2 trumpets
  • Percussion: 2 Timpani in C and G
  • Strings: Violins 1, Violins 2, Violas, Cellos, Double basses
You might like to follow the score as the symphony plays. 

First movement: Introduction: 0:00 – Sonata form: 01:13
Second movement: 08.37
Third movement: 14:14
Fourth movement: 18:25

First Movement. Adagio molto [“Very slow”] / Allegro con brio [“Fast, with energy”]. C major. Sonata form w/ slow introduction.

Second movement. Andante cantabile con moto. [“At a walking pace, lyrically, with motion”]  F major.  Sonata form.

Minuet. Allegro molto e vivace.  C major

Finale. Adagio / Allegro molto e vivace [“Very fast and lively”]. Sonata form w/ slow introduction.
C major

This performance, conducted by the great Sir Georg Solti, features the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.  Notice how young the audience is!

First movement: Introduction: 1:34 – Sonata form: 03:13
Second movement: 11:18
Third movement: 20:18
Fourth movement: 24:24
Scroll to Top